Virginia Workers’ Compensation Defense Attorneys

We have extensive experience defending insurance companies, self-insured and private employers before the Workers’ Compensation Commission and the Virginia Court of Appeals.

Attorney Daniel E. Lynch has been recognized as a “Virginia Super Lawyer” with regard to his workers’ compensation practice.

Mr. Lynch has contributed articles on Virginia workers’ compensation law to various publications, and he is a frequent lecturer on workers’ compensation topics for continuing education organizations, bar associations, and insurance companies.
 

Virginia Workers’ Compensation Defense Information

VWC Chronological – Compensation Benefits

Year Weekly
Minimum
(July 1)
Weekly
Maximum
(July 1)
Percentage
Weekly Wage
COLA
(Oct 1)
Mileage
Reimburse Rate
2018 $270.50 $1,082.00 66 2/3% 2.15% $0.555
2017 $260.75 $1,043.00 66 2/3% 2.05% $0.555
2016 $249.00 $966.00 66 2/3% 0.55% $0.555
2015 $243.75 $975.00 66 2/3% 0.55% $0.555
2014 $241.75 $967.00 66 2/3% 1.50% $0.555
2013 $238.75 $955.00 66 2/3% 1.7% $.555
2012 $233.75 $935.00 66 2/3% 3.10% $.555
2011 $226.25 $905.00 66 2/3% 1.6% $.505 eff 10/1 $.555
2010 $221.25 $885.00 66 2/3% 3.05% $.505
2009 $223.75 $895.00 66 2/3% .25% $.505
2008 $210.25 $841.00 66 2/3% 4.2% $.445 eff 7/1 $.505
2007 $204.00 $816.00 66 2/3% 2.45% $.445
2006 $193.25 $773.00 66 2/3% 3.45% $.325 eff 10/1 $.445
2005 $184.00 $736.00 66 2/3% 3.35% $.27 eff 10/1 $.325
2004 $176.50 $706.00 66 2/3% 1.75% $.27
2003 $172.75 $691.00 66 2/3% 2.4% $.27
2002 $170.25 $681.00 66 2/3% 1.45% $.27
Year Weekly
Min.
(July 1)
Weekly
Max.
(July 1)
Perc.
Weekly Wage
COLA
(Oct 1)
Mile
Reim. Rate
2016 $249.00 $966.00 66 2/3% 0.55% $0.555
2015 $243.75 $975.00 66 2/3% 0.55% $0.555
2014 $241.75 $967.00 66 2/3% 1.50% $0.555
2013 $238.75 $955.00 66 2/3% 1.7% $.555
2012 $233.75 $935.00 66 2/3% 3.10% $.555
2011 $226.25 $905.00 66 2/3% 1.6% $.505 eff 10/1 $.555
2010 $221.25 $885.00 66 2/3% 3.05% $.505
2009 $223.75 $895.00 66 2/3% .25% $.505
2008 $210.25 $841.00 66 2/3% 4.2% $.445 eff 7/1 $.505
2007 $204.00 $816.00 66 2/3% 2.45% $.445
2006 $193.25 $773.00 66 2/3% 3.45% $.325 eff 10/1 $.445
2005 $184.00 $736.00 66 2/3% 3.35% $.27 eff 10/1 $.325
2004 $176.50 $706.00 66 2/3% 1.75% $.27
2003 $172.75 $691.00 66 2/3% 2.4% $.27
2002 $170.25 $681.00 66 2/3% 1.45% $.27

 

Important Time Frames in Managing a Virginia Workers’ Compensation Claim

  • Notice of an accident must be given to the employer by employee immediately or as soon as practicable, but within 30 days of accident.
  • Claim for Benefits must be filed within 2 years of the date of accident.
  • First Report of Injury (FROI) must be filed within 10 days of knowledge of the accident (note: the employer should supply an injured employee with a panel of at least 3 physicians as soon as possible after accident).
  • Change in condition application must be filed within 24 months from the last day compensation was paid pursuant to an award ; or within 36 months from which compensation was last paid pursuant to an award for permanent partial disability benefits.
  • Request for review of a decision by the Deputy Commissioner must be filed within 30 days from the date of the Opinion.
  • Notice of Appeal to the Virginia Court of Appeals must be filed within 30 days of the Opinion from the Full Commission.

The information contained in the above summary herein is intended as a guideline and is not to be construed as legal advice. Please consult with an attorney if you need legal advice for a specific claim or issue.